WHITEHALL PARK RESIDENTS' ASSOCIATION

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting on 29 April 2010 at St Andrews Church

PART 1

Attendance: Gloria Chandra, Malcolm Jack, Sean Madigan, David Seton, Caroline Oakes, Michael Heath, Tony Wylam.

Apologies: Kay Clark, Heather Eggins

23 members and others attended the meeting.

1. Welcome

The Chairman, Gloria Chandra, welcomed members and guests to the meeting.

2. Election of Committee Members

The Chair announced that Caroline Oakes would not be standing for committee for the coming year, although she would retain her liaison role with the local Safer Neighbourhood Team. The Chair proposed that the nomination of Committee Members be taken *en bloc*. This was agreed.

Gloria Chandra, Kay Clark, Malcolm Jack, Romy Jenkins, Sean Madigan, David Seton, Heather Eggins, Michael Heath and Tony Wylam were elected, en bloc, to the Committee *nemine contradicente*.

The Chairman announced there was a vacancy for a Treasurer on the Committee as David Seton had resigned. She invited applications.

3. Addition of codicil to Association Constitution

The Chair announced that the Committee had decided to clarify the rules for approval of expenditure by adding a codicil to the Constitution. Rule 9 of the Constitution sets out the procedure whereby any such amendment must be approved by Committee prior to submission to the AGM.

The codicil proposed, having been approved by the Committee, was as follows:

'That the Committee resolves and solemnly undertakes that no Committee Member shall enter into financial undertakings with any outside person on behalf of WHPARA, without having previously obtained the consent of the Chair or the Committee'.

Following discussion, the codicil was approved with one addition to the wording. The last line is to read: '...the consent of the Chair and one other member of the committee or the Committee'.

4. Chair's Report

The Chair presented a written report to the meeting that gave a summary of the highlights of the 2009/10. In particular she drew attention to: guidelines prepared in cooperation with Islington Council to encourage respect for the Conservation Area planning restrictions; strong links developed with the Police Safer neighbourhood Team and support for the police campaign on the use of SmartWater for marking valuables; development of the Association's website, of which a "screen-by-screen" display was on view in the Church Hall.

5. Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer presented a written set of accounts for 2009/10, which showed a reduction in funds. He explained that this was due partly to a reduction in membership numbers and partly to increased spending on printing (such as a letter to residents about conservation) and work on a previous version of the website which the Committee decided to terminate and proceed with other options. He also gave details on other expenditure.

6. Future Events

Two future events were announced: The Family Fun Day on 10th July and the Annual Charity Concert in aid of the Winter Night Shelter at St. Andrew's scheduled for 3 December.

PART 2 - OPEN PUBLIC MEETING

7. The guest speakers represented the four main parties standing for local council Elections:

Liberal Democrats Greg Foxsmith

Labour Tom Ogg, Stephen Ng, Marian Spall

Conservative Richard Bunting
Green Mick Holloway

They were invited to give a 10-minute presentation on policies and plans they would seek to implement in Islington should they be elected on 6 May. Some of the questions and topics raised at the open session included the reasons for the relocation of Ashmount School, the unnecessary use of speed humps and the impact on the wear and tear of streets in the area and the effectiveness of non-resident council representatives.

The Chair thanked the speakers for their presentations and wished them good luck in the Elections. The Vicar of St. Andrew's Church, the Rev'd Rob Powell was also thanked for permission to use the Church premises and its facilities.

The meeting closed at 9.00 pm.